DCAS handbook

Permission sync

  1. Client do permission change on guild category
  2. Server responds with CHANNEL_UPDATE for modified category and each channel which permissions is synced with this category

Q: What does it mean “synced with”?

A: Look:

  1. Get a list of guild channels;
  2. Exclude all channels not under this categoty;
  3. Channel contains exactly the same set of permission overwrites category had before modification? Permissions are synced.

Q: But what if user sets category permissions equal to one of category’s not-synced channel?

A: This channel becomes synced. (As of Jul 2025)